Making a Homing Projectile I: Art and Basic Setup

Jared Amlin
6 min readSep 25, 2021

If you are here for the advanced homing missile coding secrets, stay tuned for my next article where I focus on the targeting, distance measuring and homing behavior. My objective for this article, is to create art for a homing projectile and it’s powerup counterpart, and then to get those objects working in my Unity game.

I already have a basic tusk projectile for the player, so I just color changed the same asset to make a homing missile version of the narwhal tusk.

I want it to have a light beacon that repeatedly flashes from the nose of it, so I made a sprite animation to enhance the projectile look a little bit. This is just using a circle shape outline with another circle shape with a gradient/ transparent fill, with a soft edge.

Now for the powerup. I use the letter H inside some circles with a few lines to finish the look. A gradient fill here, some glow there and I’m all done! It’s pretty simple, but I hope it’s a recognizable homing powerup set between some sights…

--

--

Jared Amlin

I am an artist and musician, that is currently diving headfirst into game development with C# and Unity3D.