Creating a Transparent Window Effect in Unity

Jared Amlin
3 min readNov 9, 2021

In my last article, I applied materials and textures to some 3D game assets. My objective for this article is to complete the window materials and textures by creating a transparent glass material.

Here is the starting point on the left, and the finished product on the right.

The first object is a small window ledge at the bottom of the glass. This takes the same white marble material that I created in my last article.

The window wall has four materials to assign to different sub-meshes.

I already have white and black marble materials, so all I need now are metal and glass materials. The metal material is pretty simple, using a light grey color on the Albedo channel, as well as a healthy amount of metallic reflectivity and smoothness.

--

--

Jared Amlin

I am an artist and musician, that is currently diving headfirst into game development with C# and Unity3D.